Wisconsin Madtown Standards

Ya’ll let me tell you about the FINEST boys at UW- Madison. I lied, there’s only a couple… Well maybe I should start at the beginning. I moved in on August 24th, and I was so ready to go. I woke up at 6:00 in the morning to make it there by 8:00 when check-in started. Ya’ll should know how I am about being on time… My dad’s prissy self decided to get all dressed up and whatnot and we ended up being an hour late . But the 24th was early move-in day for everyone who had a scholarship so there was no line and it was hella chill. We had this TINY elevator that could literally only fit our cart full of stuff (we couldn’t fit in with the cart). So we had to race up to the 3rd floor to get it off of the elevator. Lmao, what a struggle. I walked up to my room and the RA had our door decorated really cute. I opened the door and entered a shoe box; it seemed SO small. I had a mini panic attack because I had 5 suitcases worth of clothes and countless other miscellaneous dorm items (it took my dad’s van and mom’s car to get all of my stuff here).

My mom and sister cleaned my bathroom (yes, we have our own bathroom… AND AC!) while I put the clothes away. And we snuck Osita (my dog) into the room via my purse so she was chillin’ like usual. My dad hit it as soon as he unloaded the van. Didn’t even cry or anything. Lol he must really love me huh. Kay-Jah, my roommate, hadn’t arrived yet so that was nice. Otherwise I would’ve been too claustrophobic and hot. Ya’ll know I like my space. I ended up being able to fit everything comfortably so that was nice. And I still had room left over to add more stuff!

Noon comes around and Kay-Jah finally shows up with her mom and younger sister. Our families are literally identical. It’s crazy. I went with my mom and Kay-Jah’s mom to Walmart to get some last minute items, and I ended up getting to know her family a lot better. It was great to finally meet the girl I’d been texting since April.

As far as actual school goes, it’s fantastic. Being that UW-Madison is my first public school ever, I was initially overwhelmed by the 40,000+ students here. But that changed almost instantly when I realized that I knew at least 65 girls from my high school. As of now my majors are Biomedical Engineering & Spanish. I’m also on the pre-med track. I LOVE the classes I’m taking, and most excited about the student organzations that I hope to join. Greek life has always been a priority, but I’m going to wait until next year to rush. I’m also joining NSBE (National Society of Black Engineers) to help with internships and job opportunities. I even met Keven Stonewall! Aka, the best man alive. Aka the guy who most likely found the cure to cancer. Click the link to read his story.

http://newsone.com/3041045/keven-stonewall-colon-cancer/

My goals for this year are #1) not to get lost on campus after 9:00pm. Madison is relatively safe, but there are some serious creepers on campus. But I shouldn’t have to worry much, I’ve got pepper spray to take care of that it necessary. #2) I want to maintain a 3.5 cumulative GPA. Being that the lowest GPA I can have in order to keep my full-ride scholarship is a 3.0, I should maybe strive to be higher than the minimum. And #3) I want to make SO many friends and connections. I’m finally realizing how people you meet in college may one day be your boss. So being nice is the way to go 🙂

Alright so I gotta go. That’s been my life in a nutshell. I actually need to start going to sleep before 2am. So this is my que. See ya later guys 🙂

Mia and Bucky Aug 2014       Mia and Kay-Jah and Friend Aug 2014

Mia and Bucky                                                                           Mia and her roommate Kay-Jah and other friend

Leave a Reply

